Infant School

'Learning together to make a difference'

Governing Board

The Governing Board exists to support and oversee the leadership and management of the school.  It has certain statutory duties around financial compliance and ensuring that pupils are adequately provided for under current legislation.  The Board meets at least three times per year and sets up sub-committees to carry out certain duties in it's name with a few members of the full Board sitting on each committee.

Currently we have the following committees set up:

  • Sites, Finance & Personnel
  • Curriculum & Pupil Matters


The set up and operation of the board is stipulated by the UK Government's Department for Education and is constituted by licence under the Local Authority.  Members serve for a period of four years before their term of office is up for renewal/ re-election etc.


All positions and Membership of the Governing Board are listed here:

1 x Local Authority Rep (nominated by the LA, appointed by the Board)

  • Michelle Tartan

4 x Co-opted Reps (appointed by the board)

  • Michael Wheeler CHAIR
  • Dianne Bacon
  • John French
  • 1 vacancy

2 x Parent Reps (elected from the parents/ carers of the school's pupils)

  • Natlaie Newton
  • Jennifer Jenkins

1 x Staff Rep (elected from the school's staff members)

  • Sharon Harvey

1 x Head Teacher (ex-officio, meaning they serve by virtue of their office)

  • Susannah Longhurst